JEE selection and eligibility

The Joint entrance examination (JEE) is an all India level examination conducted by the Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) and the prestigious Indian Institute of Technology (IITs). The JEE joint entrance examination is divided in to two parts namely JEE-Main Entrance and JEE-advanced examination. The Joint entrance examination JEE-Main is for the candidates who aspire to study the various engineering courses in IIITs, NITs and CFTI, Government engineering colleges and other leading private colleges.  
The Eligibility criteria for both the examinations i.e. JEE-main entrance and JEE-advanced examination are given below. 

Eligibility criteria for JEE-Main Entrance examination

1.       The candidates who are seeking admissions through JEE main entrance examination should have passed in the final examination of Plus two (+2) or its equivalent qualifying examination in the year 2013 or 2014 for appearing in the entrance JEE Main 2014.
2.       The candidates who have appeared before the qualifying examination of Plus two before 2012 are not eligible.
3.       The students should have taken up five subjects at least in the main entrance examination.
4.       The candidates must ensure their eligibility before filling the application forms online.
5.       The candidates seeking admissions in the NITs, IIITs, CFTIs must ensure their eligibility. The candidates who are aspirants for IITs and ISM must ensure their eligibility. 

Qualifying examination for the JEE-main entrance examination

1.       The plus two examination in the 10+2 pattern of examination in any pattern of examination of any recognised Central/state board of secondary examination, CBSE, New Delhi and council for Indian school certificate examination, New Delhi.
2.       Intermediate or two year Pre-university examination conducted by the recognised board/university.
3.       Final examination of the two year course of the Joint services wing of the National defence academy
4.       H.S.C vocal examination
5.       3 to 4 year diploma recognised by the AICTE or a state board of technical education.
6.       Any public school/board/university examination in India or in foreign universities/countries recognised by the Association of the Indian universities as equivalent or 10+2 system.
7.       A pass grade in the senior secondary school examination conducted by the National open school in a minimum of five subjects.
8.       The number of attempts which a candidate can avail at JEE entrance main examination shall be limited to three. 

Eligibility criteria for the IIT Advanced examination 

1.       The student should write the board examination with the top listings in the top 20% in all the applicable areas.
2.        the student should write the JEE main entrance examination paper 1 and pass with the top 1,50,000 rank from all categories  like General, OBC non creamy layer, SC and ST.
3.       The PwD candidates will be given relaxation according to the eligibility criteria given by the Joint Admission Board of JEE (advanced) 2014. 


Based on the performance in the JEE main entrance examination, the students will be selected for JEE advanced examination based on the selection procedure. 50.5% of the 1,50,000 that is 75,750 students will be taken from the top rankers of the common merit list (CML) of JEE-main.  27% from top rankers of OBC-NCL category merit list. 15% of 22,500 students will be taken from top rankers of the SC category. The 7.5% that is 11,250 students will be taken from the top rankers of the ST category in the list.           

No comments

Powered by Blogger.