Basic Information about the IITs and their Joint Entrance Exam

IIT- an Introduction
The Indian Institutes of Technology (IIT) are a group of public engineering and management institutes of India. These institutions are recognised as the premier institutions for their internationally acclaimed engineering and technological education offered to the students enrolled in these institutions.

 The Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) offer the various courses at Mumbai, Delhi, Guwahati, Kanpur, Kharagpur, Madras, Roorkee campuses and also at the Institute of technology, Banaras Hindu University (BHU), Varanasi and Indian school of Mines, Dhanbad. From the year 2008 onwards, the union HRD has set up eight new IITs across the country. These IITs are located in the states of Rajasthan (Jodhpur), Bihar (Patna), Andhra Pradesh (Hyderabad), Himachal Pradesh (Mandi), Orissa (Bhubaneshwar), Madhya Pradesh (Indore), Gujarat (Gandhinagar), and Punjab (Rupnagar) which has increased the number of IITs in India to 15 institutions.       

The IITians are always in demand, be it either for the employment in organisations or getting admissions to university abroad for further studies. The outgoing students of IIT are known to have acquired professional excellence in life. They are always in top requirement and demand.

The Indian Institute of technology (IIT) every year conducts the IIT Joint entrance examination (JEE) to select the candidates into the 4 year B.Tech , B.Pharm, 5 year B.Arch, Intergrated M.Sc and Integrated M.Tech courses. Every year, the central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) and the Indian institute of Technology (IIT) conducts IIT JEE in which almost 13 lakh students attend aspiring to get into admissions into some of the prestigious courses such as IITs, NITs, CFTIs and SFTIs.  

Pattern of the IIT JEE

At present, the IIT JEE conducts the JEE examination into two parts. The IIT JEE examination is divided into IIT JEE mains and IIT JEE advanced. The IIT JEE examination (Mains) consists of the  Paper 1 and Paper 2 will have the three separate sections of Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics. All questions are objective multiple choice type of questions designed to test aptitude, comprehension and analytical ability of the candidates. 

Eligibility for IIT JEE

The eligibility criteria for the IIT JEE examination are given below. 

1.       The candidates must have passed the class twelfth qualifying examination either in 2013 or 2014.
2.       If the candidate has attended the JEE mains three times, they are ineligible to attend the examination.
3.       The candidates must have been born on or after 1st October 1989. (1984 for SC/ST/Pwd).

Selection process in IIT

1.       One entrance examination for the admissions in IITs, NITs and IIITs. (JEE)
2.       The new IIT JEE examination consists of JEE mains and JEE advanced which tests the ability of problem solving in basic science and 3 hours of duration.
3.       Only the top candidates from the JEE mains will be able to qualify for the JEE advanced examination.

The selection pattern of IIT JEE gives a substantial importance to the class twelfth examination.  

No comments

Powered by Blogger.